Faculty

Jennifer Bay

Associate Professor
Community Engagement; Feminism and Rhetoric; Professional Writing; New Media;
jbay@purdue.edu 
http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~jbay

Samantha Blackmon

Associate Professor
Computers and Writing; Gaming and Culture; African American History and Rhetoric; Lesbian Studies; Writing Program Administration;
blackmos@purdue.edu 
http://www.samanthablackmon.net/notyourmamasgamer/

Harry Denny

Associate Professor and Writing Lab Director
Writing Center Studies; Qualitative Research; Gender, Sexuality & Working-Class Studies;
hdenny@purdue.edu

Bradley Dilger

Associate Professor
Composition Theory; Transfer; Technology, Computers and Writing; Crow, the Corpus and Repository of Writing;
dilger@purdue.edu

Richard Johnson-Sheehan

Professor
Scientific, Technical, and Medical Writing;Entrepreneurship and Innovation; Rhetorical History; 
rjohnso@purdue.edu

Thomas Rickert

Associate Professor
Rhetoric and Composition Theory; Posthumanism; Postmodernism; Cultural Studies and Critical Theory;
trickert@purdue.edu
http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~trickert/

Michael Salvo

Associate Professor
Technical & Professional Communication; Place-based Research; Workplace Rhetoric; Experience Architecture & UxD;
salvo@purdue.edu
http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~salvo

Patricia Sullivan

Professor and Director, Rhetoric and Composition Graduate Program
Online Publics & Feminism; Historiography and Rhetorical Methodologies; Rechnical Communication;
sullivanatpurdue@gmail.com
http://patriciasullivan.org

Irwin Weiser

Professor
Composition Theory; Writing Across the Curriculum; Writing Program Administration; Writing Assessment;
iweiser@purdue.edu

Associated Faculty and Staff

Janet Alsup

Professor
English Education; Adolescent Writing
jalsup@purdue.edu

Margie Berns

Professor
Sociolinguistics; World Englishes; ESL;
berns@purdue.edu

Tammy Conard-Salvo

Associate Director, Writing Lab
Writing Center Technology; Diversity; Undergraduate Tutor Training;
tcsalvo@purdue.edu

Victor Raskin

Distinguished Professor
Semantic Theory; Natural Language Processing; Humor
vraskin@purdue.edu

Tony Silva

Professor and Director of ESL Writing Program
Second Language Writing: Theory, Research, and Pedagogy
tony@purdue.edu

Aparajita Sagar

Associate Professor
Postcolonial Literature; Feminist-Cultural Studies; Urban Space;
asagar@purdue.edu

Emerita Professors

Muriel Harris

Professor Emerita
Writing Centers; Online Tutoring; Collaboration;
harrism@omni.cc.purdue.edu

Janice Lauer

Reece McGee Distinguished Professor Emerita and First Director of the Graduate Program in Rhetoric and Composition
Rhetorical History; Composition Theory & Pedagogy;
jmlauer@purdue.edu

Shirley Rose

Professor Emerita
Composition Theory & Pedagogy; Citation Studies; Writing Program Administration;
Currently a Professor of English at Arizona State University
Shirley.Rose@asu.edu 

Deceased

Linda Bergmann
Professor Emerita and Director of the Writing Lab
American Nineteenth Century Popular Nonfiction; Writing Centers; Writing Program Administration;