Below are some of the awards and scholarly contributions made by faculty and graduate students in our program during the 2017-2018 academic year.

2018 Graduates: Positions Accepted

  • Amelia Chesley, tenure-track Assistant Professor of English specializing in Professional and Technical Writing at Northwestern State University of Louisiana
  • Sherri Craig, tenure-track Assistant Professor of Professional Writing at West Chester University
  • Erin Cromer Twal, tenure-track Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Samuel Dunn, tenure-track Assistant Professor of English at California State University, Sacramento
  • Jeff Gerding, tenure-track Assistant Professor of English, specializing in Professional/Technical Writing at Xavier University
  • Talisha Haltiwanger Morrison, Associate Director of the University Writing Center at Notre Dame University

Grants & Fellowships

  • Sweta Baniya, Nan Johnson Outstanding Graduate Student Travel Award for FemRhet
  • Erin Brock Carlson, 2018-19 Full-year Purdue Research Foundation fellowship
  • Sherri Craig, 2017-18 Full year Purdue Research Foundation fellowship
  • Erin Cromer Twal, Summer Purdue Research Foundation fellowship, PROMISE Grant for International Research
  • Bradley Dilger and the Crow research team, Humanities Without Walls grant
  • Talisha Haltiwanger Morrison, Ben Rafoth Graduate Research Grant
  • Patrick Love, Global Society of Online Literacy Educators (GSOLE) Research Fellowship, ATTW 2018 Research Methods Workshop Scholarship   
  • Trinity Overmyer, Summer Data Science fellowship at Los Alamos National Labs, 2017-18 Purdue Engagement Fellow
  • Rebekah Sims with Hadi Banat, Parva Panahi Lazarjani, and Phuong Tran, CILMAR grant
  • Beth Towle, International Writing Center Association Ben Rafoth Graduate Research Grant


  • Jenny Bay, “Training Technical and Professional Communication Educators for Online Internship Courses,” Technical Communication Quarterly, 03 July 2017, Vol.26(3), p.329-343.
  • Erin Brock Carlson. “Navigating Shifting Social Media Networks: An Ecological Approach to Anonymous Mobile Applications.” Kairos 22.2 (Winter 2018),
  • Erin Brock Carlson and Trinity Overmyer. “Smart Phones and Photovoice: Exploring Participant Lives with Photos of the Everyday,” In Handbook for Methods in the Digital Humanities (forthcoming).
  • Amelia Chesley (forthcoming) A brief history of crowdsourced digital publishing at Proceedings of the 2016 and 2017 Annual Computers & Writing Conference. WAC Clearinghouse.
  • Amelia Chesley (2017). Users as makers: User experience design for and by the crowd. Proceedings from the 35th ACM International Conference on the Design of Communication.
  • Amelia Chesley with  Mentzer, N., Laux, D., Parupudi, T., Kardgar, A., & Knapp, S. (2017, June), Assessing the impact of an interdisciplinary First-Year Experience program. Proceedings from the 2017 American Society for Engineering Education Annual Conference & Exposition, Columbus, Ohio.
  • Patricia Sullivan with Johnson, Meredith, W. Michele Simmons. Lean Technical Communication: Toward Sustainable Program Innovation.New York: Routledge, 2018.
  • Harry Denny and Beth Towle. “Braving the Waters of Class in Writing Centers: The Performance and Policing of Socioeconomic Class in Everyday Tutoring.” The Peer Review. November 2017.
  • Talisha Haltiwanger Morrison and Talia Nanton, “Dear Writing Centers: Black Women Speaking Silence into Language and Action.” The Peer Review (forthcoming).
  • Talisha Haltiwanger Morrison: “Complacency and Whiteness: The Silencing of Black Women by White Women Directors”  White Benevolence: Deconstructing White Womanhood in the Writing Center (edited collection by Frankie Condon and Wonderful Faison).
  • Alisha Karabinas, Chapter for the book Digital Ethics: Rhetoric and Responsibility in Online Aggression, Hate Speech, and Harassment edited by Jessica Reyman and Erika Sparby, (In progress).
  • Alisha Karabinas and Rachel Atherton, special issue of Technical Communication on Transmedia, Participatory Culture, and Digital Creation, edited by David Wright, Ed Malone, and Daniel Reardon,  (In progress).
  • Alisha Karabinas and Rachel Atherton, SIGDOC proceedings, 2018.
  • Alisha Karabinus, Two case studies to be included in Learning, Education, and Games, Volume 3.
  • Patrick Love. (2017). “1-2-Switch, ubiquitous computing, and emergent augmented reality.” First Person Scholar.
  • Patrick Love. Rhetorically Defining ‘Information’ for Interfacing: From Transport to Wayfaring Paradigms. SIGDOC 2018.
  • Patrick Love and Alisha Karabinus. (expected 2019). Creation of an Alt-Left Boogeyman: Information Economics and the Emergence of ‘Antifa.’ After 2016: The Crisis in Digital Democracy. Eds Michael Trice and John Jones.
  • Potts, Liza and Michael Salvo (eds). Rhetoric and Experience Architecture. Anderson,SC: Parlor Press, 2017.
  • Michael Salvo. Writing Postindustrial Places: Technoculture amid the Cornfields. Routledge Studies in Technical Communication, Rhetoric, and Culture. New York: Routledge, 2017.
  • Rebekah Sims, “She is Worth Far More than Rubies: Networked Collective Rhetoric in Quiverfull Women’s Weblogs.” Peitho Journal, (Fall 2018)
  • Allegra Smith, “Participatory Porn Culture: Feminist Positions and Oppositions in the Feminist Pornosphere” Sex in the Digital Age, Routledge.
  • Bud Weiser and Shirley Rose. The Internationalization of US Writing Programs, Utah State University Press. Purdue Alum contributors: Tarez Graban, Jennifer Haan, Paul Matsuda, Libby Miles, Carolina Pelaez-Morales (SLS), and Christine Tardy.

Honors & Awards

  • Sweta Baniya, Kneale Awards for Rhetoric and Composition, 2018 Literary Award
  • Jenny Bay, Purdue Service Learning Faculty Award (University)
  • Erin Brock Carlson,Crouse Graduate Student Emergent Scholar, English Department Overall Excellence in Teaching Award for Graduate Students
  • Tony Bushner, Second place, IGNITE competition, Purdue Professional Writing Showcase
  • Elizabeth Geib, Excellence in Teaching Award (Fall 2017)
  • Jeff Gerding, Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Mitch Hobza, Purdue Federal Credit Union Creative Nonfiction Essay Award for “Notes toward an Understanding of Empathy: Weaving through the margins of a semester length auto-ethnography,” 2018 Literary Awards
  • Michelle McMullin, Crouse Graduate Student Emergent Scholar
  • Ryan Murphy, Crouse Graduate Student Promising Scholar
  • John Sherrill, Association of Teachers of Technical Writing 2018 Graduate Research Award, Crouse Graduate Student Emergent Scholar
  • Allegra Smith, ACM SIGDOC Microsoft Student Research Competition Winner, Kneale Award for Pedagogy: Purdue Literary Awards

         Alumni Honors & Awards

      • Gracemarie Mike Fillenwarth, FemRhet, Presidents Dissertation Award
      • Natasha Jones, Kristen Moore, and Rebecca Walton, CCCC Best Article on Philosophy or Theory of Technical or Scientific Communication, “Disrupting the Past to Disrupt the Future: An Antenarrative of Technical Communication,” TCQ, 2016.
      • Ehren Helmut Pflugfelder, CCCC Best Book in Technical or Scientific Communication Award, Communicating Technology And Mobility: A Material Rhetoric for Transportation, Routledge.
      • Kathryn Swacha, “‘I Could Probably Live to Be 100’: A Rhetorical Analysis of Aging, Agency, and Public Health” 2018 CCCC Outstanding Dissertation in Technical Communication

Alumni are encouraged to submit announcements of new scholarly work or accomplishments to be added to the site, using the form below: